Pesky pesky cantaloupe.

Cantaloupe.  I like it, don’t love it.  In my personal hierarchy of melons, it falls toward the bottom, squandered by ripe summer watermelons and juicy honeydew.  But, when my Acme had it on sale for $2.50 per HUGE melon, I had a momentary lapse in memory.  For those three minutes in the produce department, cantaloupe and I were best friends.  Our relationship was reminiscent of the OMG BFLS FOR LYFE week long friendships formed at girl scout camp.

The cantaloupe sat in my fruit bowl for a week, ripening and taunting me.  How on earth was I going to eat the whole thing, by myself, before it joined the forty percent?

Finally, I sliced it open.  After two days of eating massive wedges alongside my pancakes, it started to turn.  I panicked.  It was time to get creative.  Cantaloupe salad it was…for three days straight.  It was that good.  And I had that much cantaloupe to consume.

Warm spinach and cantaloupe salad with caramelized onions, raisins, and balsamic

Serve as a side salad or top with a fried egg or two to make it a meal!  Both are delicious.

DSC_3302

Ingredients: Spinach, diced cantaloupe, sliced vidalia onion, raisins, balsamic vinegar or balsamic vinaigrette, fried eggs (optional).

Saute the sliced onion until caramelized and set aside.  Saute the spinach in a touch of oil until just wilted.  Transfer to your salad plate(s).  Top with cantaloupe, onion, and a few raisins.  Dress with balsamic vinaigrette, or top with a fried egg or two and plain balsamic vinegar.

One comment

  1. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

Discuss!

